Ode to Joy

1 Apr

Everybody has heroes. Some wear capes or unitards. Some stand up for what is good and right. Some are just everything you need them to be: warm, creative, funny. Wonderful. This hero wears a blazer and a smile. She is armed with laughter and baked goods. It was a treat to meet this hero, Joy the Baker, in person. Well worth a trek to Brooklyn in the rain and a four hour wait, because after all this time her food has never steered me wrong.

Joy and her equally awesome podcasting co-host Tracy Shutterbean recently called upon their listeners to share photos of their five favorite things. Since I’m currently experiencing a slightly absurd Joy the Baker high, I thought I’d join the fun. Also because I keep eating everything I bake instead of photographing it – a deplorable habit.

1. Joy the Baker Cookbook: 100 Simple and Comforting Recipes 
Freshly autographed and ready for action this is, as far as I’m concerned, the cuddly down blanket of baking books. It’s warm, friendly, and conversational. My copy is already covered with flour – a fact easily detected by Joy when she signed it. I highly recommend the cinnamon rolls, single-lady pancakes, and the brown butter chocolate chip cookies. I’ll get back to you when I’ve made the rest to the book.

2. Fresh Sugar Lip Treatment 
If this stuff had existed when the Sound of Music was written, Maria would have sung a whole verse about it. It’s sunscreen, it’s lipcolor, IT’S AWESOME. I have it in ALL the colors. It is out of control excellent, and perhaps the best thing to come out of my freak makeup investment (read: explosion) last summer.

3. This nail color combo
I shamelessly hijacked these nail polishes from one of my apartment mates, just like I shamelessly ask her to do my hair all the time. It’s cool – she’s currently entertaining a back up career as a ladies’ maid. She will be infinitely more boss than O’Brien.

4. My molecular model kit
I am a chemist. This box of tiny pieces of plastic has been a life line in my Advanced Organic Chemistry class this spring. It keeps me from feeling like a total fool whenever I try to do my homework. While I definitely spent part of this semester feeling a bit silly taking such an absurd course when I have every intention of being a physician, not a chemist, it came in handy when I went here. Very handy.

5. The view from my window.
It’s raining today, so the Hudson looks a bit grim, but I’ve liked having this view from the tenth floor. In less than 50 days, I’ll be leaving New York for Texas, and while I’ll be back to visit, I’m fairly certain I won’t be living here again. College is ending, and I am so very excited for what happens next.

15 Responses to “Ode to Joy”

  1. Robyn April 2, 2012 at 9:53 am #

    i LOVE that sugar lip stuff too but i didn’t know it comes in different colours! awesome!

    • chefroommate April 9, 2012 at 11:41 am #

      I think the colors are great – such a good alternative to lip stick if your lips tend to dry out!

  2. Lori April 5, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Tose colours do look great together!

  3. yepindeed April 5, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    awesome! i did the homework assignment too: http://yepindeed.com/2012/04/02/5-favorite-things-an-assignment-from-tracy-and-joy/

    LOVE LOVE LOVE Joy and Tracy!

    xoxoxo

    @graylinsample
    yepindeed.com

  4. yepindeed April 5, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    omg I LOVE Tracy and Joy! I did the homework too: http://yepindeed.com/2012/04/02/5-favorite-things-an-assignment-from-tracy-and-joy/

    xoxo

    @graylinsample
    yepindeed.com

    • chefroommate April 9, 2012 at 11:42 am #

      They are so fun! I love listening to their podcasts!

  5. Alison April 8, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    I really want to try that lip stuff… I am amazoning it right now thanks to you!
    I did the assignment too:

    http://craftybakeoven.me/2012/04/06/5-favorite-things-april/

    I really enjoyed thinking about it!

    • chefroommate April 9, 2012 at 11:42 am #

      Hope you enjoy it! It really is one of my favorite products.

  6. puresweet April 9, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    I had a slightly absurb JTB high too after meeting her. Glad I’m not the only one! ha. Where do you buy that lip stick at? Sounds amazing!

    • chefroommate April 9, 2012 at 6:57 pm #

      I felt like a mega fangirl – but I was definitely in the same boat with everyone else! I usually get Sugar Lip Treatment at Sephora, but I know Fresh has their own stores in some places as well. I’m also pretty sure it is available on Amazon.

  7. jenniebites April 9, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    so jealous that you got to see joy! love the post!

  8. Nicole @ The Dirty Oven April 10, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Love your post and the nail polish. The tinted sugar lip balm is off the hook as well. Congrats on enjoying Chemistry I remember those days well…. it did help me with Pharmacology down the line. Alas not and MD but a Geriatric NP. I am glad you met Joy! Their podcast gets me through my day! Love your blog.

  9. vonmarvelous April 13, 2012 at 8:38 am #

    Love Joy and yes, go to Sugar Sweet Sunshine – everything they make is awesome. Nice post!

  10. browneyedlaura April 14, 2012 at 9:03 pm #

    I love your view- that’s amazing!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

