Vegan Cookies Invade My Blog

1 Oct

We now interrupt your regular programming to bring you: VEGAN COOKIES! Don’t be alarmed. Normal animal fat levels will be restored shortly. I like to keep things interesting. I wear bright yellow shirts on rainy days that make me look like this guy. I buy hand soap in such a cheerful scent my suitemates can’t stop talking about it. I start making vegan cookies at breakfast time just because you weren’t expecting them. No you were not. But you don’t care. Because unexpected cookies might just be the best kind of cookies. Even if they are vegan.

Mexican Chocolate Snickerdoodles, from Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar by Isa Chandra Moskowitz & Terry Hope Romero

Ingredients
for the topping
1/3 cup sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
for the cookies
1/2 cup canola oil
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup real maple syrup
3 Tbsp nondairy milk (I used coconut)
2 tsp vanilla
1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup cocoa powder (not Dutch process)
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cayenne

Step 1: Preheat oven to 350 degrees Farenheit, and line your baking sheets with parchment paper.

Step 2: Mix the topping ingredients together in a shallow bowl, and set aside.

Step 3: In mixing bowl, vigorously mix together the oil, sugar, syrup, and milk with a fork. Mix in the extracts. Sift in the remaining ingredients, stirring as you add them. Once all the ingredients are added, mix until you have a pliable dough.

Step 4: Roll the dough into walnut sized balls. Place a ball into topping, and press into sugar to flatten into 2-in disc. Transfer to baking sheets (sugar side up, 2 in apart), and bake 10-12 minutes.


Step 5: Enjoy with a glass of milk! Be warned – these cayenne spiced cookies have a bit of a kick!

8 Responses to “Vegan Cookies Invade My Blog”

  1. If you can see my email am I no longer anonymous? October 2, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

    That hand soap brightens my day. every time.

    And the surprise baked goods.

    • Eileen October 3, 2011 at 6:45 am #

      Glad to be of service! Also – I’m the only one who sees your email, so you can just type in an alias such as super cool triathlete suitemate for the name if you wish to remain anonymous on the interweb.

      • Emily October 4, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

        Now whom could you be referring to?
        ps…BEST COOKIES
        And now I return to studying dead plants and dying species

      • Eileen Smith October 4, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

        Riveting!

  2. Tom Baker October 16, 2011 at 6:12 am #

    Just started on a vegetarian lifestyle and these would fit in perfectly. I think people who eat foods that are spicy tend to be less heavy and I like the cayenne idea in the chocolate. I think a nice bowl of balsamic strawberries might be nice instead of the milk. Thank you, this recipe will be made by dessert time tonight.

    • chefroommate October 16, 2011 at 7:07 am #

      Hope you enjoy the cookies! Pairing with strawberries sounds like a wonderful idea. Happy eating!

  3. Christine October 21, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Hi there, these look delish.

    A question – I’m planning on making these later today, but it doesn’t give a measurement for how much cocoa to use. I’m assuming 1/2 cup, based upon the picture……but could you set us straight? 🙂

    • chefroommate October 21, 2011 at 10:53 am #

      Hi Christine! It is 1/2 cup of cocoa. Sorry for the confusion! I’ve made the correction above. Enjoy the cookies!

Leave a Reply

